Loading...
 
 
Ask the Expert - The Picture of Dorian Gray, Procurement Professional
 
19th May 2016 Virtual Event Ask The Expert (ATE) Webinars
CPD Points Available
Gain 1 CPD point by attending
this event

Sorry, registration for this event is now closed

Thursday 19th May 2016 - 4:00 PM London, 11:00 AM New York, 8:30 PM Mumbai, 11 PM Perth

In 1890, Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ forever changed how we see the connection between internal and external beauty. Even without a literal translation in the form of a magical portrait, a person’s true nature is often most clearly revealed through their reactions to ideas and events.

Since Procurement at a Crossroads, co-authored by Jon Hansen and Kelly Barner, was released in January of 2016, the reactions have ranged from enthusiastic discussion to constructive skepticism to outright rejection. In each case, the reaction revealed more about the reactionary than it did the content of the book, but in all cases it proved that this book is a necessary way-point in the evolution of procurement as a profession.

In this webinar we will discuss:

  • What ‘hard questions’ are facing procurement professionals today
  • Why it is so important that we ask – and answer – those questions
  • What form(s) our answers to those questions might take

Our Experts:

Jon Hansen

The Editor and lead writer for the PI Social Media Network's Procurement Insights Blog, and the host of the PI Window on The World radio show, Jon Hansen is a two-time Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Finalist.  Through funding from the government's Scientific Research & Experimental Development program, Jon built a software company that he eventually sold for $12 million. Based on his business experience and his work with major clients in developing programs that dramatically improved their procurement practices, he is considered to be a leading expert on subjects as diverse as supply chain practice, public sector policy, emerging business trends and social media. 

Kelly Barner

Kelly Barner is the Editor of Buyers Meeting Point, an online resource that provides coverage of industry news, events, and publications, for busy practitioners. Kelly's decade in procurement includes time as a practitioner and as the assistant director of consulting at Emptoris (acquired by IBM in 2011). Kelly is also the host of BMP Radio, a podcast series that brings the best authors, academics, and thought leaders on for informal interview. Kelly regularly reviews procurement and supply chain publications as they become available, and is a popular contributor to a number of industry blogs and news sites.