Loading...
 
 
Ask The Expert: How do organisations worldwide, including yours, collaborate with the Indigenous Business Sector?
 
14th March 2018 Virtual Event Ask The Expert (ATE) Webinars
CPD Points Available
Gain 1 CPD point by attending
this event

Sorry, registration for this event is now closed

Wednesday 14 March - 12 noon to 1 pm AEST (1am UTC) 

  • Mumbai 6:30am 
  • Hong Kong / KL / Perth 9:00am 
  • Tokyo 10:00am 
  • Brisbane 11:00am 
  • Adelaide 11:30am 
  • Melbourne / Sydney 12 noon 
  • Auckland / Wellington 2:00pm 

On 12 February 2018 an overhaul of the Australian Federal Government’s support for Indigenous businesses was announced. The Indigenous Business Sector Strategy is the cornerstone of the Indigenous Entrepreneurs Package, a commitment to supporting the growth and diversity of the Indigenous business sector through:

  • $90 million for an Indigenous Entrepreneurs Fund;
  • refocussing Indigenous Business Australia’s Indigenous Business Development and Assistance Programme; and
  • developing the Indigenous Business Sector Strategy.

In 2010, the first annual World Indigenous Business Forum was held, providing a platform that engages Indigenous people in global economic discussions. There are four main sectors that focus on Global Indigenous Economic issues; Community, Industry, Academic and Government.  In October 2018, the forum will be held in Rotorua, New Zealand.

Join us for this webinar, where our expert, Pete Dunne, will discuss the importance of understanding potential opportunities that collaborating with indigenous entrepreneurs and communities offers. 

Our Expert: Peter F. Dunn B.Surv (Engineering); Dip Soc Sci (Psychology); M Soc Sci (Public Policy) Churchill Fellow

Pete Dunn, GHD Business Development Manager located in Canberra, Australia, has been pioneering minority group economic development through advancing enterprise in Australia, and Globally. He is advising a number of Indigenous enterprises to grow their market share and capacity develop their understanding of procurement and delivery. This activity builds on his 40 year’s experience working alongside Indigenous communities.

Pete is a business mentor to some of Australia’s leading Indigenous businesses, and in some cases founded them, including Barpa Construction (www.barpa.com.au), National Aboriginal Construction Partners (www.nacpp.com.au), i2i Development Projects (www.i2idevelopment.com) and Murumal (www.murumal.com.au). The establishment of these businesses required Peter to work alongside Indigenous communities to build their capacity and structure. As an ad hoc advisor to the Australian Government he contributed to the development of the Governments mandatory Indigenous Procurement Policy which has seen procurements to Indigenous owned suppliers grow from less than AUD$6 million to over AUD$1 billion in 2 years.

Peter has been a keynote speaker and advocate for the World Indigenous Business Forum (www.wibf.ca), for the past 6 years. The WIBF brings together Indigenous entrepreneurs from around the world to network, learn from each other and grow their businesses.

In 2015 he established the iHUB, an incubator for Indigenous owned start-up companies delivering to the Australian Government. He is passionate to have minority groups in the population participate in their national economy, and not on the fringe.

As always, the calls will be recorded and placed in the IACCM Library, with links to download the slides of the call. All registrants, whether for live attendance or recording only, will receive those links.