Loading...
 
 
Thought Leadership Webinar: Contract & Commercial Management: are we facing a talent crisis?
 
9th December 2019 Virtual Event Research & Thought-Leadership Webinars
CPD Points Available
Gain 1 CPD point by attending
this event

Contract and Commercial Management - it’s a great job, but is it a great career?

Almost 1,000 IACCM members contributed to the 2019 talent survey and their input should act as a wake-up call to senior management. While the need for highly skilled commercial experts is growing, attrition rates are increasing and many in the community are disillusioned by the failure of their business to invest in its people.

Most contract and commercial managers love the challenges associated with their work and they recognize the need for up-skilling. But many feel they are not receiving the support they need to develop those skills and there is widespread concern about the absence of a clear career path. 

It is clear from the results that professionals and their managers each need to give careful thought to resource and personal development plans. Today’s challenging markets demand an adaptive, committed body of contract and commercial staff, applying their skills to deliver increased business value. Right now, the pace of change is too slow.

Join us on December 9th to discover the findings of this important research, to discuss its implications and to discover how market leaders are responding, for both practitioners and their executive management. 

Monday, December 9th

  • 8 am Seattle
  • 11 am New York / Caracas / Santo Domingo
  • 4 pm London / Lagos / Lisbon5 pm Paris / Cape Town 
  • 6 pm Helsinki / Amman / Moscow / Doha 
  • 8 pm Dubai
  • 9:30 pm Mumbai
  • 12 am Perth / Singapore / Beijing

 

Our Experts: Tim Cummins, Sally Guyer, and Vikki Rogers

Tim Cummins, President, IACCM. Tim Cummins - Executive Team, IACCMIn his role as President of IACCM, Tim works with leading corporations, public and academic bodies, supporting executive awareness and understanding of the role that procurement, contracting and relationship management increasingly play in 21st-century business performance and public policy. He leads the Association's extensive research programs and interactions with universities and business schools. Prior to IACCM, Tim's business career included executive roles at IBM and a period on the Chairman's staff, leading studies on the impacts of globalization and the re-engineering of IBM's global contracting processes. His earlier career involved the banking, automotive and aerospace industries, initially in Corporate Finance and later in commercial and business development. He led negotiations up to $1.5 billion in value and his work has taken him to over 40 countries. Tim's writing is extensively published and he has acted in an advisory capacity to government bodies in countries that include the US, UK, Australia, Canada, and Japan, as well as regular briefings to senior managers at many of the world's largest companies.

 

Sally Hughes - Executive Team, IACCM

Sally Guyer, Global CEO, IACCM. Sally supports the IACCM global team in the pursuit of both the recognition of and excellence in Commercial and Contract Management. She an experienced and accomplished commercial and contracts management professional, holding senior commercial positions at a range of corporate and multi-national organizations. After gaining an Honors degree in Law, Sally spent her time in the house in the corporate sector, where she worked globally in the Telecomms and IT industries, before establishing her own legal and commercial consultancy in 2007. Sally is passionate about enabling business efficiency and growth through contracting and commercial excellence; she understands the need for robust business operations to drive these efficiencies, together with the requirement for effective communication and collaboration at all times. Whether in contract development, negotiation, training or general communications, Sally has built a reputation for service excellence and responsiveness. Her focus is on the creation of positive and successful business relationships, constantly striving to ensure that businesses realize their true potential and value.

 

Vikki Rogers, VP Learning, Development & Research. Vikki utilizes her legal, commercial, academic, and system design background to develop innovative training programs to help organizations achieve commercial excellence. Additionally, she manages IACCM's best in class online certification programs, as well as classroom workshops. She closely collaborates with corporate members to understand key business objectives to propose effective L&D solutions, as well as correlates corporate commercial competency frameworks and skills criteria to curated L&D program assets. Moreover, she spearheads programs that impact the CCM profession, including the development of apprenticeship programs and the IACCM Contracting Principles. Prior to joining IACCM, Vikki was an Assistant Dean for Online Programs at a US law school and Director of the Institute of International Commercial Law. She has also been engaged in several initiatives that have shaped the field of online dispute resolution (ODR). She participated as a United States delegate at the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) to develop technical standards for ODR. She has co-chaired the Technology Committee of the Dispute Resolution Section at the American Bar Association. She has also advised on ODR initiatives at OAS and APEC and served as an expert advisor to UNCITRAL on ODR. She has practised international commercial law and arbitration in the US and Germany.

 

 
 
 

Sign In

If you are already an IACCM member, please sign in to continue with your registration.



 
 
 
Forgot your password?

Join Us