Loading...
 
 
Ask the Expert in Spanish: 'Simplificación y diseño de contratos'
 
15th January 2020 Virtual Event Ask The Expert (ATE) Webinars
CPD Points Available
Gain 1 CPD point by attending
this event

Sorry, registration for this event is now closed

This webinar will be in Spanish.

Stefania Passera from Finland Presentation in English with slides in Spanish - PRESENTACION EN INGLES Y DIAPOSITIVAS EN ESPAÑOL

"The rise of the contract designer. Contract simplification and design explained – and how IACCM can help"

Contracts should be usable and useful to the people in charge of implementing them. They can offer a competitive advantage in terms of transparency and trustworthiness. Clear easy to read contracts allow a deal to close faster.

In this presentation, Stefania Passera illustrates the costs of complexity and the benefits of simpler, user-friendly contracts by showcasing examples from forerunners in the IACCM community.

Robert de Rooy from South Africa – Presentation in English with slides in Spanish - PRESENTACION EN INGLES Y DIAPOSITIVAS EN ESPAÑOL.

“Comic Contracts"

Our market economies cannot function without contracts, and vulnerable and illiterate people cannot participate in the market economy, like having a job, a place to live, a bank account etc, without signing contracts. In his presentation, Robert de Rooy explains what Comic Contracts are, provides examples and shares some feedback from the users of Comic Contracts and discusses some challenges and opportunities. 

Q&A will be with translations into Spanish as this webinar will be generated by IACCM from Spain to the entire Spanish speaking community (Latin America and Spain). 

LAS PREGUNTAS SERÁN EN INGLES Y AL CIERRE COMENTAREMOS EN ESPAÑOL SOBRE EL CONTENIDO DESARROLLADO POR AMBOS EXPERTOS, PARA TODO ESPAÑA Y LATINOAMERICA. 

Nota: Si estás en Madrid, no te inscribas en este evento (webinar) pero sí hazlo en la MEMBER MEETING (evento presencial).

  • 10:00 am Seattle / Las Vegas
  • 12.00 pm Ciudad de Mexico / Guatemala 
  • 1:00 pm New York / Bogota / Lima
  • 3:00 pm. Buenos Aires / Santiago de Chile / Montevideo
  • 6:00 pm London / Lisbon
  • 7:00 pm Madrid / Paris / Lagos
  • 8:00 pm Helsinki / Amman / Cape Town
  • 10:00 pm Dubai

Our Experts: 

Pablo Cilotta, Senior Director Southern Europe, South & Central America and Africa, IACCM.

Pablo is a cross-border generalist Law professional with strong academic credentials and a solid focus on Corporate/Business Law and commercial contracts. He has a diverse background and in-house experience in multi-cultural environments gained through regional positions held in Europe, Me & Africa, APAC, Latin America (Argentina) and for the US market, in multiple industries (fishery sector, IT industry, healthcare, legal & HR consultancy, law firms, litigation, among others). In his current role with the IACCM, he leads the development and expansion of this professional Association across the Latin America & Southern Europe region / Spanish-speaking communities. He also contributes with the set-up of contracting, negotiation and Contract Management processes for corporate members and organizations. Prior to joining the IACCM, Pablo was responsible for legal and negotiations support to the sales and procurement staff, having supported multiple locations globally, negotiating and managing contracts across the EMEA and Latin American regions.

 

 

Dr. Stefania Passera, Contract Design and Visualisation Consultant, Passera Design

Stefania Passera is a contract design and visualization expert based in Helsinki, Finland. Her mission is to help her clients transform their contracts and policies into user-friendly, effective tools that work for business. With 10 years of experience in the field, her work ranges over information design, service design, user research, brand design, and user experience. After being awarded IACCM Fellow status for her innovative work on contract design and simplification, Stefania has recently joined forces with IACCM as a Contract Design Consultant and coordinates the IACCM Contract Design Pattern Library project.Stefania is an all-rounder, holding one foot in business and one in academia: in addition to running her one-woman design consultancy, Passera Design, Stefania holds a Visiting Researcher position at the Helsinki University Legal Tech Lab. She earned her doctoral degree from Aalto University,  writing her dissertation on how visualizations can enhance the comprehension and user experience of contracts. Her research has been published in international journals, books, and conference proceedings. Stefania is considered a legal design and contract visualization pioneer: she is the initiator of Legal Design Jam, a co-founder of the Legal Design Alliance and a co-author of its Legal Design Manifesto, and a frequent keynoter on the topic.

 

Robert de Rooy, Founder, Creative Contracts (PTY) Ltd.

Robert is a commercial lawyer based in Cape Town, South Africa who cares about the vulnerability of people when they sign contracts they cannot read. From this the idea of Comic Contracts was born. Comic Contracts are legally binding illustrated contracts for low-literate people. Together with Jincom EHS, Robert formed Creative Contracts (Pty) Ltd to develop, research and advocate better ways for low-literate people to independently understand their contracts.For more info, please have a look at Robert´s website: http://www.creative-contracts.com